Skip to content

Special Recognition Awards for World No Tobacco Day by the WHO

26 May 2018

Dr. Carissa F. Etienne with the President of the Oriental Republic of Uruguay, Dr. Tabaré Vázquez

Washington, D.C., 25 May, 2018 (PAHO / WHO) — The President of the Oriental Republic of Uruguay, Dr. Tabaré Vázquez, is to be honored with the WHO Director-General’s Special Recognition Award for World No Tobacco Day, the only Special Recognition to be given this year.

Dr. Vázquez was selected for the award in acknowledgement of his achievements scaling up tobacco control efforts in accordance with the Global Action Plan for the Prevention and Control of Noncommunicable Diseases (NCDs), and the 2030 Sustainable Development Agenda. These advances include, among many others, a total ban on the advertising, promotion and sponsorship of tobacco products, as well as effective regulation of tobacco packaging and labeling.

Close and long-time collaborators of the World Heart Federation Dr Beatriz Champagne, Director at the InterAmerican Heart Foundation and Dr Eduardo Bianco, Regional Coordinator for the Americas of the Framework Convention Alliance (FCA) will also be awarded for their extraordinary dedication in tobacco control.

Read more here