Skip to content

WHO World No Tobacco Day 2018 awards

01 Jun 2018

Every year, WHO recognizes individuals or organizations in each of the six WHO Regions for their accomplishments in the area of tobacco control. This recognition takes the form of WHO Director-General Special Recognition Award and World No Tobacco Day Awards.

The World Heart Federation would also like to thank the awardees for their great work in tobacco control for healthier hearts.

WHO Director-General Special award

  • His Excellency Dr Tabaré Ramón Vázquez, President of the Oriental Republic of Uruguay

African Region awardees

  • Professor Fastone Mathew Goma, University of Zambia School of Medicine, Zambia
  • Mme Likibi-Boho Rosalie, Point Focal National de lutte antitabac, Ministère de la Santé et de la Population, Congo
  • Dr Nenodji Mabiro, Coordinatrice du Programme National de lutte contre le tabac, l’alcool et les drogues Ministère de la Santé Publique, Tchad
  • Dr Désiré Habonimana, Maitre Assistant a la Faculté de Médecine, Université de Burundi et Directeur Exécutive de Health Healing Network Burundi
  • Mrs Charity Aienobe-Asekharen, Health Promotion Education & Community Development Initiative, Nigeria
  • Ministry of Health and Social Welfare, the Republic of the Gambia

Region of the Americas awardees

  • Instituto de Efectividad Clínica y Sanitaria/Institute for Clinical Effectiveness and Health Policy (IECS), Argentina, Argentina
  • Dr Guillermo Paraje, Universidad Adolfo Ibañez, Chile
  • Ministry of Public Health, Guyana
  • Dr Beatriz Marcet Champagne, Executive Director of the Inter-American Heart Foundation, United States of America
  • Dr Eduardo Bianco, Coordinador Regional para las Americas de la FCA, Oriental Republic of Uruguay

Eastern Mediterranean Region awardees

  • Professor Mohammad Reza Masjedi, Secretary-General of Iranian Anti-Tobacco Association and Tobacco Control Research, Islamic Republic of Iran
  • Dr Hamdy El-Sayed, Professor of Cardiology and Former Head of the Health Committee in the Egyptian Parliament, Egypt
  • Dr Wedad Alhaj Al-Maidoor, Consultant Family Physician, Director of PHC Dubai Health Centers, Head of Tobacco Control Team, United Arab Emirates
  • Dr Fadlo R. Khuri, President of the American University of Beirut, Lebanon
  • Dr Adel Mulla Husain Alturkait, Head of Health Promotion Committee, Head of Preventive Medicine Unit, Capital Region, Ministry of Health, Kuwait
  • Mr Muhammad Waqas Tarar Director, Tobacco Control Cell, Pakistan

European Region awardees

  • His Excellency Mr Emomali Rahmon, President of the Republic of Tajikistan
  • Nongovernmental organization Advocacy Center “Life”, Ukraine
  • ASH Scotland, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Mrs Susanne Løgstrup, Director of the European Heart Network, Belgium
  • British Heart Foundation, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Dr Akaki Zoidze, Committee of Healthcare and Social Issues of the Parliament of Georgia

South-East Asia Region awardees

  • Dr S.K. Arora, Additional Director, Health and State Nodal Officer, National Tobacco Control Progamme, Government of Delhi, Government of India
  • The Medical Association of Thailand under the Royal Patronage, Kingdom of Thailand
  • BRONKUS team of CIMSA UNS, Republic of Indonesia
  • Dhamana Veshi, Urban Health Centre of Ministry of Health, Republic of Maldives

Western Pacific Region awardees

  • Associate Professor Dr Bounkong Syhavong, Minister of Health, Lao People’s Democratic Republic
  • Professor Hu Dayi, Chinese Association on Tobacco Control, People’s Republic of China
  • Ministry of Health and Medical Services, Republic of Kiribati
  • National Health Insurance Service, Republic of Korea
  • Ministry of Health and Tonga Health Promotion Foundation, Kingdom of Tonga
  • National Cancer Center, Republic of Korea

Read more here